Samsung N110 Review

March 23, 2009

in Samsung N110

So earlier today we picked up on the Samsung N310 story, and now we have news of the N110! This looks very much like the NC10 but with a few updates. Details are light on the ground right now but Laptopmag seems to have got the scoop. They have even manged to get a review up!

Some key point:

  • The N110s first appearance is in the NC10 style glossy black colour however and additional burgundy trim around the edges gives it a professional look. No doubt more colours will follow!
  • The matte display of the NC10 has been replaced with a glossy, 10.2-inch, 1024 x 600-pixel screen on the N110. This will not please a number of people but glare was not reported as a problem.
  • The N110 has the same size and weight dimensions as the NC10. It sizes up with 10.3 x 7.3 x 1.2 inches and weighs in at 2.8 pounds (1.3kg), even with the higher-capacity six-cell battery.
  • Samsung left the keyboard on the N110 untouched. The comfortable 93% keyboard of the NC10 was a universal hit – so if isn’t broken, don’t fix it!
  • Larger touchpad. The touchpad size has increased to 2.5 x 1.3 inches versus 2.3 x 1.1 inches found on the NC10.
  • The mouse button is slightly more raised than on the original. The single rocker bar remains and lacks a divot to separate the left and right sides.

Check out their news here.

Leave a Comment

{ 10 comments… read them below or add one }

azentropy March 23, 2009 at 3:19 pm

>The matte display of the NC10 has been replaced with a >glossy, 10.2-inch, 1024 x 600-pixel screen on the N110. >This will not please a number of people but glare was not >reported as a problem.

Yep, I will never buy another laptop (or any system) with a glossy screen. Doesn’t look like much of a update anyway – certainly nothing that would have made we rush out and update my NC10.

Pugrider March 23, 2009 at 6:09 pm

jez, if Samsung keeps rolling out new netbook models at this pace you are going to need a much bigger website!

Pugrider

jez March 23, 2009 at 6:31 pm

yeah lol I added a N110 page on the top menu but I’ll run out of space if I do that for all the new ones – I need a plan B ;)!

Chris March 23, 2009 at 7:19 pm

Glossy (dare I say reflective) screen and 5mm on the touchpad, was it really worth releasing? The 30-45mins extra on the battery (at best) could be worth the extra cost I guess… Samsung could sell that as an accessory perhaps.

jez March 23, 2009 at 8:59 pm

I know – a bit disappointing. It would have been nice to see something innovative in there. Still, a nice machine and the tweaks might make it hold up against the competition for a little longer.

markhedder March 23, 2009 at 10:33 pm

Should have gone the NC10 SE route, but even that one has a glossy casing lol. I’m going to take a wild guess and say Samsung is trying to cut down on costs because of the competitive nature of the netbook market on pricing. But there could very likely also be a demand for glossy screens for the average user too (just look at the AAO).

WrReIaTdE March 24, 2009 at 12:16 am

I’m pretty sure the average user thinks that a laptop with a glossy screen looks more expensive/nicer. I assume only a small percentage of users, like those of us here, prefer a matte display.

As more laptops switch to glossy displays, we will see fewer complaints about glossy displays from reviewers and users alike.

I hate to say it but, if Apple does it, others can safely follow suit.

Rudini March 24, 2009 at 4:34 am

Burgundy trim makes it look more professional? In which business?

funrider March 24, 2009 at 1:41 pm

The also upgrade the battery from 5200 mah (NC10) to 5900 mah which should give you 7+ hours

Mark_Larson March 26, 2009 at 1:37 am

I’m sorely disappointed with the switch to glossy screen. Samsung are you listening? The main reason I got the Samsung NC10 over other netbooks I was considering was the matte screen and if they continue on this glossy path I for one won’t be recommending them any more.

Previous post:

Next post: