Samsung N230 Review

August 8, 2010

in Samsung N230

Post image for Samsung N230 Review

So the reviews for the new N230 netbook are starting to come in.

Unfortunately I don’t get to have a go on one so I’ll be sticking to rounding up other people’s reviews!

N230 owner? SammyNetbook.com has a tradition of posting up user reviews, unboxings, photos, etc. So if you care to share your thoughts on the N230 then drop me a line. My gmail.com email address is SammyNetbook

As usual, reviews will be added to the Samsung N230 wiki page. If you know of a review that we’ve missed, feel free to update the wiki!

Samsung N230 Review

This first detailed review comes via the NotebookCheck website.

For those who don’t want to read the whole in-depth article, here are a few key points:

  • Slim, robust and stylish case
  • Standard netbook connectivity and webcam, however Bluetooth 3.0 is present.
  • Keyboard is one of the machine’s can you buy tramadol best features
  • Touchpad has a pleasant matt feel but it was too easy to stray from the touch sensitive area
  • The screen offers up a 1,024 x 600 resolution but an interpolation option allows a distorted looking 1,152 x 864
  • Outdoor use wasn’t fantastic
  • Standard netbook performance (ie don’t go expecting desktop PC power!)
  • Low system noise a big positive
  • Confusing battery options with both a three and six cell battery available (check with your supplier before buying!)

Conclusion

In many ways the review is positive, however NotebookCheck felt the N230 is let down by its price.   Given that the N230 doesn’t offer a whole lot more than the Samsung N220 can the extra premium be justified?

Well I guess that will be down to the buying public!  Overall they gave the N230 a score of 84%.

Have you bought an N230?  What do you make of the review?

Leave a Comment

{ 6 comments… read them below or add one }

Grant August 12, 2010 at 8:44 am

Despite all the hype around the N230 I’ve looked all over London and can’t find one anywhere. Does anyone know of a stockist? Thanks.

jez August 15, 2010 at 3:06 pm

I’ve not seen one in the shops yet I’m afraid. Normally places like Dixons get them in stock so it’s worth asking in store.

Personally I’d buy online but the obvious downside is the hassle of sending it back if it doesn’t look and feel quite like you’d hoped.

If/when you get one, let us know! Would love to see some real pics.

Harry August 20, 2010 at 3:26 pm

i bought the N230 online after letting my NC10 go to a family member. At the moment I am feeling rather let down by Samsung on the quality of the Windows 7 build and some really annoying bugs .,.. Bluetooth keeps crashing (not in use when this happens) and the screen cannot be dimmed at all with the fn+ keys…. another known bug … I’ve changed the BIOA setting but to no avail…. still no dice (even reset all the drivers and tried a few new ones) overall dissapointed

jez August 21, 2010 at 5:03 pm

That’s a shame Harry. The NC10 still seems to be a high point for Samsung Netbooks, although personally I love the look of the N230 (the photos at least!).

Anyone disagree and want to big up the N230?!

Walter Mitty September 1, 2010 at 3:15 am

I would.

I bought the N230 about a month ago, about a day after it came out here in Singapore. I bought the 3-cell, thinking that if I needed the extra juice I could buy a 6-cell later.

In that one month I have generally been very happy. The bad things, first, because there aren’t many and it won’t take long:

1. The motherboard died on me about 3 weeks after I bought it. Samsung’s service was excellent, though, and it was ready and repaired a day after I brought it in. While I’m not terribly pleased that my spanking new netbook was dead in the water a mere 3 weeks into my ownership, I must say I was quite pleased with the service.
2. It’s a netbook. You’re not going to be able to do much besides word-processing, web-surfing and watch low-res videos. That’s fine for me, and I knew what I was getting into.
3. The 6-cell spare battery apparently can’t be had for love or money in Singapore, and the Samsung representatives simply flat-out refuse to bring it in. It looks like I’ll have to source for one overseas. If anyone knows of a decent supplier who’ll ship overseas, let me know. :)

The good:
1. It’s very lightweight and easy to carry around. I’m a college student, and travel back and to school with it all the time; it’s barely noticeable in my backpack, even when I’m carrying the accompanying power adapter.
2. The build quality seems pretty good. Solid feel, no loose bits.
3. The keyboard is a pleasure to use. The keys are spaced well apart so mistyping is rare. The arrow keys are sort of small but it’s not something that’s bothered me.
4. It’s pretty damned sexy.

As for the bugs Harry mentioned: yes, I encountered the same bug about the inability to dim the screen, as well. I narrowed it down to a particular Intel graphics update – from what I remember, it’s got something to do with the Samsung Fn-keys being incompatible (in the case of this driver) with that update. You’ll probably have to stick with the Samsung-supplied drivers if you want to be able to dim the screen. I solved my screen-dimming problem by rolling back to the pre-update drivers and then disabling that particular update. It was reasonably straightforward.

I’ve used the NC10, as well, and this compares quite favourably to the NC10. Unfortunately, I can’t comment on the Bluetooth 3.0 (probably one of the main differentiators compared to most netbooks) as I don’t use Bluetooth at all.

Overall, yes. I love my little netbook. :) (That said, I’m getting a twinge of buyers’ remorse whenever I read about the upcoming dual-core netbooks.)

Walter Mitty September 1, 2010 at 3:19 am

Oh, and a couple more things which escaped my notice, since I’m already so used to them now.

1. The matte screen is nice! It was something I was very pleased with at the start and am still very happy with.
2. The touchpad is good enough, although personally I still prefer a mouse.
3. Yes, it’s very quiet, and doesn’t heat up very much.
4. I have to emphasise: check which version you’re getting (3-cell or 6-cell battery) before purchasing. This is something I think Samsung could have handled better.
5. The screen performs well indoors and decently outdoors at the higher brightness settings.

Right, that’s it from me.

Previous post:

Next post: